My Best Decision (Part 4 of 4)

This is the final post of a series I’ve written about my husband and best friend, Steve, for his birthday (today!).  We’ve been blown away by all of you who have told us that you’ve enjoyed this series.  Thank you for reading and encouraging us!  For those of you who didn’t see the earlier posts, here are the previous parts of the series:

PART 1 – Intro/Background

PART 2 – Early dating relationship

PART 3 – Getting to know Steve

——-

And to the final part…

IMG_7609

Selfie at our wedding reception, 10/18/14

 

Since Steve and I have been married (it’s been 1 year and 10 months), I’ve wondered and also secretly questioned what our marriage would be like.  Would things become mundane, would we become less loving toward one another, would we get too comfortable, would we get sick of each other…

It’s been less than 2 years so I realize we have a long road ahead, but I can honestly say that we are still each other’s favorite part of the day, and we try very hard to make each other feel loved and lovable.  When I see Steve at the end of the work day, I know I’m home.  When we greet each other, our eyes light up. The closest thing I can compare it to is how a puppy greets its owner when they come home, as silly as that might sound.  We say “I love you so much” to each other multiple times a day.  And I mean it every time.  I don’t want Steve to ever feel like he’s not loved.  Because that’s what he does for me.   When I’m hurting, sometimes all it takes is one hug from Steve and I feel like maybe it’s going to be all right after all.

I’ve said a lot of nice things about Steve and our marriage so you might be thinking that we have a really good thing.  And it’s true; we do.  But I don’t think a good marriage means that we’re happy all the time.  Anyone who is married knows it takes hard work and it seriously sucks when there are conflicts/disagreements.  We have to have difficult conversations that feel uncomfortable once in awhile (I really hate when that happens).  But I believe because we are healthier individuals than before and we know ourselves better, we try our best not to hurt each other and always try to put each other first.  That really makes things easier on the few tough days we have.  I’m sure we will have more hurdles ahead of us but we try to stay present and enjoy each other now.  We are aware that we are not perfect.  And we don’t expect each other to be perfect.  I could say so much more on this but maybe that’s for another post.  I also think going to New Life helps because they make marriage seem like the hardest thing ever (which is probably true) and so I expected this to be super, duper difficult.  Turns out when you expect something to be the hardest thing ever, it can only go up from there. 😉

I could never have imagined that I would marry someone like Steve.  And I also cannot imagine anymore what it would be like to be married to anyone other than Steve.  I don’t want to imagine any other life.  I want to appreciate and be present to the life I have been given.  Steve has been and continues to be a true gift.  The best gift I have ever received and the best decision I have ever made.

——-

Sweet Tea, this is your birthday so I should really be giving you a gift but what can I say, you have been the greatest gift to me.  I am so truly grateful that God created you and sent you my way.  Happy birthday.  I love you always.  -Your Sweet Pea

P.S.  Here’s a little video I put together for you.  Hope you enjoy.

[For context for those of you who made it to this point of the blog series, during our engagement period, Steve had his groomsmen compete for the Best Man position in, what he called, “The Best Man Olympics.”  I really don’t know anyone else who would do this besides Steve.  If you know him at all, you’ll know he’s an Olympics fanatic (so this has been an exciting few weeks for us to say the least) and he felt it was a great opportunity at the time to incorporate that somehow in his pre-wedding shenanigans.  hahaha… I love him so much!]

One thought on “My Best Decision (Part 4 of 4)

Leave a Reply

