You Win Some, You Lose Some More

I thought it’d be appropriate to write a follow up post to my last one about The Battle of the Boroughs: Queens, although it’s tempting to leave everyone hanging. ūüėČ

Well, I did not win.

The Great Apes did.

They carried great energy and it’s exciting to have them represent Queens in the final battle. ¬†They’re a fantastic band.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed. ¬†Of course, I am. ¬†Especially after calling out to everyone to vote for me, which so many people did, in unprecedented numbers for anything I’ve asked for in the past. ¬†In fact, so many of you voted that it’s hard to imagine how many more people voted for the winner. ¬†This was clearly an epic battle, indeed!

Times like this remind me why I tend to keep my hopes real low… because the disappointment of that hope being unrealized is sometimes too great to bear. ¬†But I’ve been learning to embrace the ups and downs of life these past few weeks. ¬†It’s a process and I imagine it’ll take some time.

The main point I want to make is how absolutely grateful I am. ¬†If you came to support me that night, I am grateful for you. ¬†If you voted for me, I am grateful for you. ¬†If you’re reading this, I am grateful for you. ¬†If you’ve listened to my music at any point, I am so grateful for you. ¬†I have never, ever taken any of this for granted and have taken each step carefully as I navigate the vast waters of singing and songwriting and performing. ¬†I suspect, I will continue treading these waters for awhile. ¬†And I will win some and probably lose some more.

But I guess it doesn’t matter since it was never about winning anyways.

Leave a Reply

