I Wanna Run To You

I still remember when my dad ordered “The Bodyguard” soundtrack and it arrived in the mail.   We played it on repeat for several weeks to come and it quickly became my favorite album that year.  I also didn’t know very much music as a 12 year old but I knew that voice was sent from heaven.  I proceeded to memorize every song that Whitney Houston sang on that album and became an instant fan.  Little did I know back then that I would aspire to be a singer and that I would attribute one of my biggest vocal influences to Whitney.

Here we are in 2012 and Whitney’s funeral was just yesterday.  I’m still trying to figure out what all this means – as I usually do when I learn of someone’s passing.  I’m grieving, I’m soaking up as much Whitney songs as I can and trying to remember what happened to her life.  She had her ups and downs, and in recent memory, it seems like the valleys overshadowed her mountaintop career.  No matter how colorful her life was, however, at the end of the day, there is and there will always be only one voice that is Whitney.

I’ve been going around asking people which Whitney song is their favorite.  Almost everyone told me a different song.  I find this astonishing.  I dug into my vault of Whitney songs and tried to figure out which one is my favorite.  She’s had some good ones, for sure.  But I came back to The Bodyguard soundtrack again and it is a very honest song, which I can so identify with even at this point in my life.  Maybe even more so now.  So, against all logic and reason, I decided to cover my favorite Whitney Houston song.  Here is what came out of my long session last night.

I miss you, Whitney.

Leave a Reply

