“Poison and Wine”

I’ve been pondering the tension that inevitably rises in most relationships – that the person we love the most is the person we can hurt the most, and the person who loves us most is the person who can hurt us most.

Quickly discovering my fear of intimacy and, to be honest, it’s a pretty scary and ugly place.

I usually just end up running away.

Learning to take it one day at a time and just put one foot in front of the other.

This song captures that sentiment pretty well.  A beautiful song by The Civil Wars called “Poison and Wine”.  Lyrics are below.

Poison & Wine

–written by John Paul White, Joy Williams & Chris Lindsey

You only know what I want you to
I know everything you don’t want me to
Your mouth is poison your mouth is wine
You think your dreams are the same as mine

I don’t love you but I always will
I always will

I wish you’d hold me when I turn my back
Well the less I give the more I get back
Your hands can heal, your hands can bruise
I don’t have a choice, but I still choose you

I don’t love you but I always will
I always will

Leave a Reply

