I do smile. Promise!

In recent years, I’ve had a reputation for being “emo” – that I’m sad all the time, write melancholy songs and look for pain and suffering to sustain my life.  While much of this is true, I’d venture to say that it’s not the emo in me that brings out these qualities, but it’s actually life that has made me emo.  I couldn’t care less about being emo.  I care much more about being true to my self.

That said, there have been several instances lately in which I find myself smiling widely and even laughing uncontrollably.  So I thought I’d list them here to remind myself that life is more than tears and pain and all that good stuff.

Doggies – My love for dogs has remained the same for many years.  When I see one on the road, it makes me smile for no apparent reason.  If I see one with its head out the window of a car, it’ll undoubtedly make me “AWW” and smile from ear to ear.  I’ve stopped many strangers’ dogs on the road to pet them and to take pictures with them.

Silly Bandz – I don’t know what it is about these funny little rubber bands, but the fact that they maintain a shape even after being stretched out and their fun colors makes me really giddy to wear them.  I was ecstatic to find out that the few that I have are glow-in-the-dark. OH. EM. GEE.  Special thanks to my friend who first introduced and gave me a few of these trendy accessories.  Funny thing is… these are most popular among the age group of 5-10 year olds!  Regression?

Bruce Bruce – Bruce is an amateur musician on YouTube (he gets tens of thousands of hits every vid he uploads), and I randomly found him through a friend who had entered into this singing contest. Bruce was the winner, and he has a SICK voice!  And his arrangement skills are bar none.  I am not a huge YouTuber, but when it comes to Bruce, I can be on it for a long time.  You definitely need to check out his chops.  He is also hilarious.  He and his brother incorporate corny humor into their vids, and I totally love that.  I really shouldn’t be crushing on this guy cuz he is probably a decade younger than me.  But I can still enjoy his music… right?!  ha ha!

That’s all for now.  The list ain’t that long.  There are other things, but nothing else that I feel like mentioning right now.  What makes you smile?

2 thoughts on “I do smile. Promise!

  1. I still remember the time you were SO excited to pet this stranger’s dog and the dog went crazy on you. LOL. 🙂 I’m glad these things make you smile!!

    At the risk of sounding mad cheezy, I will say that seeing parents loving on their kids – whether it’s bundling them up, holding their hand, or just adoring their kid by tickling – it totally makes smile!

Leave a Reply

