Two things I have no interest in.

This morning I did a little drive upstate to surprise my parents.  My sister was in town visiting them for the weekend and so I thought I’d go up at least for the day and have some quality fam-time.

Sister = 5 years my junior, entering her 3rd year of law school @ American University in D.C.  The more ambitious one of the the two of us.  The one with more personality, spunk, attitude and wit.  Extremely talented, sociable, conversational, intelligent, go-getter, resourceful, messy but organized, punctual… I could go on.  Point being, she made some serious cash this summer interning at a law firm and wanted to treat mom and dad to a nice day of shopping.

We went to Woodbury Commons Outlet.  A shop-aholic’s dreamland.  Personally, a bit overwhelming for me, but I enjoy going there once in awhile when I can find a good bargain.  Today we went into the Zurberry* store with the hopes of buying mom a bag that I’ve been meaning to get her, but couldn’t afford on my income level.  Sister, mom and I looked around and found a nice one for her.  Browsing through the store, mom suggested to me that I should wear Zurberry.  Er?  I responded, I don’t like Zurberry.  Actually, I don’t care about brand names. She looked at me like she didn’t understand the words I just uttered.

Later on, sister and mom go into the Bales* jewelry store, and I reluctantly follow them inside.  They look eagerly around at the diamonds displayed behind glass counters.  I stand in the corner.  Mom asks, Why don’t you look around? I look at her and tell her that I’m not into diamonds.  She looks at me as if I am from another planet.

I obviously have not been very good at communicating to mom my preferences in life.  I’m not interested in brand names and I am not interested in diamonds.  I couldn’t care less.  I’m not even talking about superficiality.  I’m just not into it.  I never was.  They hold no significance for me.

Tonight (I will tell the more detailed story of how all this went down in a future post) two very good friends got engaged, and I got to be a part of planning.  After the proposal (she said yes!) a few of us joined them to celebrate, and the two guys that I was with asked to see her ring immediately – and I realized I wasn’t even one bit curious!  It was quite a hilarious moment because for that moment, it felt like our roles were reversed.  I, as the girl, would typically ask to see the ring first, right?   But it was the guys that were gaga’ing over it.  I laughed out loud!

Some days, it’s like mom knows best – she knows how I’m feeling or thinking without me having to utter aword.  On other days like today, I wonder why mom doesn’t seem to know me at all.

*Name disguised for anonymity

One thought on “Two things I have no interest in.

  1. I understand and please go on – re: “Sister = 5 years my junior, entering her 3rd year of law school @ American University in D.C. The more ambitious one of the the two of us. The one with more personality, spunk, attitude and wit. Extremely talented, sociable, conversational, intelligent, go-getter, resourceful, messy but organized, punctual… I could go on.”

    On a more serious note, thanks for the kind words :)!! Have a good week uns!

Leave a Reply

