Tell me.

I’ve been thinking lately about how to love a person well. 

I’m not sure if I ever figured it out.   It’s still a bit mysterious to me. 

I started to think about the moments when I feel most loved.  Usually, I feel loved when someone speaks a word of affirmation to me, or writes me a letter.  It can be as simple as an e-mail.  The running theme being that they all contain verbal expression.  And I realized this is how I express love to others, too – by verbally expressing my appreciation for another person.  

There are times when it gets all jumbled up though, especially with friends who feel loved in totally different ways.  So if I write them a super sweet letter, they won’t appreciate it as much as if I gave them a big hug or a tangible gift.

That’s when I started to realize, it can be really important to understand how different people give and receive love.  I came across this one book that talks about the five love languages.  Of course, it doesn’t cover everything, but I thought it was very helpful, and so here they are:

Words of Affirmation – Feeling especially loved when people express how grateful they are for me, and for simple, everyday thing sthat I do, with their words.

Quality Time – Feeling especially loved when a person gives me undivided attention and spends time alone with me.

Receiving Gifts – Feeling especially  loved by someone who brings me gifts and other tangible expressions of love.

Acts of Service – Feeling especially loved when someone pitches in to help me.

Physical Touch – Feeling especially loved when a person expresses feelings for me through physical contact.

 

What is your top love language?  And what is your least?

One thought on “Tell me.

  1. my top is words of affirmation…these love languages also cause other issues, I must add.

    my least would be acts of service. I actually hate when people try and help me, especially if I don’t ask for it.

Leave a Reply

