glimpse of the sky

Today I caught a glimpse of the sky and I became obsessed.  

Once I saw it, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  How can I get out of here?  I thought about a lot of ways in which I could try to escape.  I’ve been trying to convince myself that this is the good life.  I eat, drink, sing all I want.  I know exactly how many bars make up this dwelling place of mine.  They’re all very straight and organized; I’ve grown accustomed to how everything I see out there is obscured by these parallel lines.  In fact, I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I was ever to venture out into that unknown.  If I was ever given the chance to flap these wings.  I don’t know if I could survive.  It would be very dangerous, I’d imagine.  So even if there is a slight chance that I could find my way out of this place, I might just opt to stay here, because frankly, it’s comfortable here.  I might not be flying, but I’m content.  

And what about that sky that I saw earlier on today?  I can’t get it out of my mind.  It was so vast.  It was alluring.  And I could’ve sworn I saw someone else out there.  What is it like out there?  Why am I so curious to find out?  I have everything I could ever want here.  I have no complaints. 

But why does my heart keep longing for the sky?

Leave a Reply

